Then and Now - Music Hall - Pawtucket, Rhode Island
The Music Hall in Pawtucket, Rhode Island, was constructed in 1880 for Lucius Bowles Darling, who was the owner of a local fertilizer company. It had a seating capacity of 1,700 and featured the longest staircase in the country at the time it opened. The theater was located on the second floor and included three distinct sections: orchestra, balcony, and second balcony.
In 1926, E.M. Loew’s Theaters Inc. assumed ownership of the Music Hall Building. In 1936, the building’s facade underwent an Art déco-style transformation, coinciding with a new tenant on the first floor – The Peerless Company, a local department store.
Originally designed for opera and vaudeville performances, the Music Hall Building needed to adapt to changing entertainment preferences. With the rise of silent films, it faced competition from the Leroy and Strand theaters for audiences. The Music Hall subsequently shifted its focus to western and cowboy movies, showcasing notable stars like Tom Mix and Buck Jones.
Tragically, in 1970, the Music Hall Building was demolished as part of the second phase of the Downtown Revitalization Project. The site is currently an office building.
Matt Lambros RI Pawtucket Dec 05, 2023 Architecture History Then & Now
Location: Pawtucket, RI
Matt Lambros Dec 05, 2023
Share Then and Now - Music Hall - Pawtucket, Rhode Island