The Emery Homestead was constructed in 1903 by William H. Binnian, and designed by Alfred R. Darrow to be a replica of George Washington’s Mount Vernon home in Virginia. Darrow is quoted as saying that “the site has an almost unparalleled view of the region. On clear days, one could stand on the front steps and see almost 40 miles down the coast.” Binnian sold the property to the Emery family in 1916. It served as a residence for different generations until September 2010, when the last inhabitant, Allan Comstock Emery, Jr., passed away at the age of 91.
Allan C. Emery, the Executive Chairman of the Greater Boston Billy Graham Crusade, had strong ties with the estate. Billy Graham, a renowned evangelist and influential figure of the 20th century, visited the Emery Estate in Weymouth multiple times. The Emery’s, known for their piety, hosted a weekly teen Bible study in their home for over 30 years.
Following Emery’s demise, the Town of Weymouth seized the opportunity to purchase the estate and its surrounding 24 acres for $1.9 million using Community Preservation Act funds. Now known as King Oak Hill Park, the land offers a breathtaking view of the Boston skyline, with the Emery Estate overlooking the park.
The property comprises not only the principal estate but also a carriage house, garage, and a “children’s playhouse,” which is comparable in size to many regular homes in the town.
Matt Lambros MA Weymouth Jan 16, 2024 Abandoned Places Architecture History